Never was a Cornflake Girl…

A better wife

Posted on: September 14, 2008

I want to write lately but just can’t seem to make myself.  In two weeks I’ll be moved out.  I feel lonely but oh well, that’s all just part of it.  It’s scary but staying is scarier.  This song is fitting:

A Better Wife
Erin McKeown

i’m just something else he tried
a catalogue of interests in a catalogue of lives
i hid myself from him, i wouldn’t say it was a lie
but hiding worked its way into the way we lived our lives

it was clear that he was troubled
he had trouble with his pride
but i could never tell if the fault was his or mine
so i drew myself away, i wouldn’t say i left behind
a man who would never know the man he was inside

in a moment he was gone, i could see that he had died
by the quickening of blood and the fluttering of eyes
so i held him to my breast like all the better wives
who furnish men with love and never leave their side

i’m just something else he tried
the salt that’s left behind after tears have dried
and I suppose that i’ll go on, after all it was my life
and all that i supposed i held has come to be untied 

2 Responses to "A better wife"

Those are some powerful lyrics. I’m not sure if there is anything I can say that will make you feel better about the loneliness, except that like all things, it will pass. What I hope for you is that when you leave, things get better each day. It’s not going to be easy or quick even, but I’m confident that your life will improve when the weight is let go. Again, this is nothing personal against Jeremy…it’s more about the relationship you have with him. You are a strong, beautiful and confident woman..I am sure you will be able to endure this. I’m here for you. (just remember that Oct. 9-12th I wont be able to talk, persay :))

Those are powerful lyrics. They’re amazing actually, and I feel them singing to me as well. You’re amazing.

I haven’t forgotten your e-mail to me about your weekend…I will respond! I have a few tales of my own to tell about the weekend.

Leave a Reply

